Skip to main content

2019 Naff Symposium



Schedule of Events - April 5, 2019

8:00 a.m. Registration & Continental Breakfast
Gallery, W.T. Young Library
8:50 a.m. Welcome - President Eli Capilouto
9:00 a.m. Prof. Chris Chang, Berkeley
Activity-Based Sensing Approaches to Decipher Transition Metal Signaling
Auditorium, W.T. Young Library
10:00 a.m. Break (refreshments available)
10:30 a.m. Prof. Peter Schultz, Scripps
Playing with the molecules of Life
Auditorium, W.T. Young Library
11:30 a.m. Lunch & Break
1:30 p.m. Prof. Stephen Frye, University of North Carolina
Chemical Biology and Academic Drug Discovery
Auditorium, W.T. Young Library
2:30 p.m. Poster Session Set-Up
3:00 p.m. Poster Session
Jacobs Science Building



Prof. Chris Chang


Christopher J. Chang is a Class of 1942 Chair Professor in the Departments of Chemistry and Molecular and Cell Biology at University of California, Berkeley. He is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and a member of the Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute at University of California, Berkeley. Chris is a Faculty Scientist, Chemical Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He is a recipient of numerous awards including the NSF CAREER, ACS Cope Scholar, etc. Chris did his undergraduate and MS work at California Institute of Technology. He moved to MIT where he did his doctoral work with Prof. Daniel Nocera, now at Harvard University and his postodoctoral work with Stephen J. Lippard at MIT.

Group Page

Prof. Peter Schultz


Peter G. Schultz did his undergraduate and graduate work at the California Institute of Technology. In 1985, after postdoctoral studies at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, he joined the faculty of the University of California at Berkeley, where he was Professor of Chemistry, Principal Investigator at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Schultz joined the faculty of Scripps in 1999 where he is currently the Scripps Family Professor of Chemistry and President of Scripps. He founded and was the Institute Director of the Genomics Institute of the Novartis Research Foundation (GNF) in San Diego, CA from 1999 to 2010 and more recently (2012) the California Institute for Biomedical Research (CALIBR), a not-for-profit institute focused on early stage translational research. In addition, Schultz is a founder of Affymax Research InstituteSyrrxKalypsysPhenomixSymyx TherapeuticsIlypsaAmbrxArdelyx, and Wildcat Technologies, pioneers in the application of diversity based approaches to problems in chemistry, materials science and medicine. His awards include the Waterman Award of the National Science Foundation, membership in the National Academy of Sciences and National Institute of Medicine, the Wolf Prize in Chemistry, the Paul Ehrlich Prize, the Arthur C. Cope Award of the American Chemical Society, the Solvay Prize, and Wieland Prize. He has coauthored 600 scientific publications and trained over 300 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows, many of whom are on the faculties of major research institutions around the world.

Group Page

Prof. Stephen Frye

University of North Carolina

Stephen Frye is a Fred Eshelman Distinquished Professor, Director of the Center for Integrative Chemical Biology and Drug Discovery, and Co-leader of the Molecular Therapeutics Program, Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill. Frye is also the lead principal investigator for the North Carolina Comprehensive Chemical Biology Center, a UNC-based, NCI designated center that engages in oncology drug discovery. His laboratory’s research focuses on chemical biology of chromatin regulation with an emphasis on proteins that bind methylated lysine, and oncology drug discovery.

Group Page

2019 Naff Committee Members:

Professor Samuel Awuah (Chemistry, Committee Chair)
Professor Edith Glazer (Chemistry)
Professor Jason DeRouchey (Chemistry)
Professor Doo-Young Kim (Chemistry)

For more information, contact Dr. Samuel Awuah.