2016 Naff Symposium

The Department of Chemistry at the University of Kentucky organizes an annual Symposium on Chemistry and Molecular Biology.  This Symposium was established in honor of Anna S. Naff, a University of Kentucky graduate, through the generous support of Dr. Benton Naff of NIH. The Symposium has an interdisciplinary character and is attended by students and faculty from Chemistry, Biochemistry, Biology, Pharmacy, Engineering, Agriculture and Medicine. The Symposium features renowned experts from around the world, including Nobel prize-winning scientists and is attended by faculty and students from colleges and universities in Kentucky and the contiguous States.

The Symposium will be held in the William T. Young Library on the University of Kentucky campus. A poster session will be held in conjunction with the Symposium.


Schedule of Events - April 29, 2016

8:00 a.m. Registration & Continental Breakfast
Gallery, W.T. Young Library
8:45 a.m. Welcome
Dr. Eli Capilouto, University of Kentucky President (tentative)
Auditorium, W.T. Young Library
9:00 a.m. Rommie Amaro, PhD.
Auditorium, W.T. Young Library
10:00 a.m. Break (refreshments available)
10:30 a.m. David Baker, PhD.
Auditorium, W.T. Young Library
11:30 a.m. Lunch
1:30 p.m. Poster Session
Multipurpose Room, B108C, W.T. Young Library
2:30 p.m. Frances Arnold, PhD.
Auditorium, W.T. Young Library



David Baker, PhD.

University of Washington

Head of the Institute for Protein Design
Professor of Biochemistry
Adjunct Professor of Bioengineering
Adjunct Professor of Genome Sciences
Adjunct Professor of Physics
Adjunct Professor of Chemical Engineering
Adjunct Professor of of Computer Science
Investigator, HHMI

B.A., Harvard University
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley
Postdoctoral work/ UCSF

Group Page

Frances Arnold, PhD.