The Naff Symposium

  • Assistant Professor
  • Analytical
  • Biological
  • Chemistry
  • Physical
184A Chemistry-Physics Building


The Department of Chemistry at the University of Kentucky organizes an annual Symposium on Chemistry and Molecular Biology.  This Symposium was established in honor of Anna S. Naff, a University of Kentucky graduate, through the generous support of Dr. Benton Naff of NIH. The Symposium has an interdisciplinary character and is attended by students and faculty from Chemistry, Biochemistry, Biology, Pharmacy, Engineering, Agriculture and Medicine. The Symposium features renowned experts from around the world, including Nobel prize-winning scientists and is attended by faculty and students from colleges and universities in Kentucky and the contiguous States.

The Symposium will be held in the William T. Young Library on the University of Kentucky campus. A poster session will be held in conjunction with the Symposium. Cash prizes are awarded in conjunction with the poster competition : First Prize $300, Second Prize $150, Honorable Mention (2) $50 each.


Schedule of Events - April 29, 2016

8:00 a.m. Registration & Continental Breakfast
Gallery, W.T. Young Library
8:45 a.m. Welcome
Dr. Lisa Cassis, Vice President for Research
Auditorium, W.T. Young Library
9:00 a.m. Rommie Amaro, PhD.
Auditorium, W.T. Young Library
10:00 a.m. Break (refreshments available)
10:30 a.m. David Baker, PhD.
Auditorium, W.T. Young Library
11:30 a.m. Lunch
1:30 p.m. Poster Session
Multipurpose Room, B108C, W.T. Young Library
2:30 p.m. Frances Arnold, PhD.
Auditorium, W.T. Young Library



Frances Arnold, PhD.

California Institute of Technology

Dick and Barbara Dickinson Professor of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering and Biochemistry
Director, Donna and Benjamin M. Rosen Bioengineering Center

B.S., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Princeton University Ph.D., Chemical Engineering, University of California, Berkeley, Postdoctoral, UC Berkeley, Chemistry, Postdoctoral, Caltech, Chemistry

Group Page

David Baker, PhD.

University of Washington

Head of the Institute for Protein Design
Professor of Biochemistry
Adjunct Professor of Bioengineering
Adjunct Professor of Genome Sciences
Adjunct Professor of Physics
Adjunct Professor of Chemical Engineering
Adjunct Professor of of Computer Science
Investigator, HHMI

B.A., Harvard University
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley
Postdoctoral work/ UCSF

Group Page

Rommie Amaro, PhD.

University of California, San Diego

Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Director, National Biomedical Computation Resource
Chemical Biology & Drug Design, Senior Editor
XSEDE User Advisory Committee member
Co-Director, Drug Design Data Resource

Ph.D., Chemistry, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
B.S., Chemical Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Rommie E. Amaro is an associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry and the director of the National Biomedical Computation Resource at the University of California, San Diego. Her research focuses on development of computational methods in biophysics for applications to drug discovery.

Group Page


2016 Naff Committee Members:

Professor Pete Kekenes-Huskey (Chemistry, Committee Chair)
Professor Jason DeRouchey (Chemistry)
Professor Marcelo Guzman (Chemistry)
Professor Chris Richards (Chemistry)

For more information, contact Dr. Pete Kekenes-Huskey.

Enter your link blue username.
Enter your link blue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected