Featured Stories

UK to Transform, Modernize Chemistry-Physics Building

By Jenny Wells

The University of Kentucky Chemistry-Physics Building is getting a much-needed transformation.

The central campus staple is currently undergoing a two-phase construction project that will result in a renovation of the third floor, as well as a completely new exterior façade of the building, including a three-story entrance/atrium.

Graduation Celebration & Student Awards Ceremony

The Department of Chemistry hosts an annual Graduation Celebration and Awards Ceremony to recognize the outstanding acheivements of our students on an annual basis. This year we would like to recognize the following graduates of our PhD, Masters, and Undergraduate programs:

Doctor of Philosophy
Wenjin Cao
Kai Ding
Alexis Eugene
Zhen Fang
John Hoben
Daniel Kirchhoff
Ryan Loe
Faruk Moonschi
Anthony Petty
Daudi Saang'onyo
Yang (Vanessa) Song
Laura Walther
Zhihui Zhang

Master of Science
Hope Cook Abdalla
Amber Bowman
Andrew (AJ) Bradley
Nandini Gundaram Suresh
Edward (Kirkbride) Loya
Xiao Tan

Bachelor of Arts
Annie Jo Baker
Morgan Louis Blair *
Kevin Russel Eversole
Kevin P Kelley, II
Musab Mohammad Shalash
Eashwar Vellaiappan Somasundaram *

Bachelor of Science
Tanner Wetzel Adams
Eve Deva Aldridge
Melissa Lynn Becker
Joshua Michael Betts
Jamie Elizabeth Boggs
Kyle T Brutscher
Haley Whitney Carroll
Katherine Rose Clowes *
Keisten T Collins
Cassadi Jordan Cordea *
John Gregory Davis
Mike Alfred Dittert
Lilly Do
Matthew Brady Ekman *
Logan John Eslinger *
William Eubanks, III
Madison Paige Ginn *
Heba Rasheed Hanbali
David Andrew Harris *
Sarah Elise Hodges
Sirui Huang
William C Jennings *
Sarah E Johnson
Morgan L Keyser
Brenna Kirkpatrick
John Klein *
Katherine Anne Kloska
Alysia Joy Kohlbrand
Don Edward Laird
Allison Carol Lane
Lyric Jasmine Lane
Harrison Evans Lee
Zi En Lee
Jumanah Mahmoud *
Gregory Nathaniel Milburn *
Jonathan Steele Nelson
Sara Ann Novotny
Jacquelyn Estes Rhinehart *
Antonela Rodriguez
Chia-Hsuan (Jessica) Shen *
Olivia Marie Tholt *
Caroline Elizabeth Thornbury
Matthew Thomas Wasmund
Liying Wu *

*Denotes Chemistry Department Honors




Friday, April 26, 2019 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm
JSB 121
Type of Event (for grouping events):

Chemistry Welcomes Two New Adjunct Assistant Professors

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Justin Mobley and Dr. Jesse Thompson as Adjunct Faculty at the level of Assistant Professor. 

UK Joins U.S. Department of Energy Battery Research Partnership


LEXINGTON, Ky. (Nov. 19, 2018) — The University of Kentucky has been named a partner on a $120 million, five-year second phase of the Joint Center for Energy Storage Research (JCESR), a U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Innovation Hub focused on advancing battery science and technology.


Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected