Featured Stories

UK Researchers Use Sustainability Challenge Grant program to study biomass products

Researchers from the University of Kentucky departments of Chemistry, Food Science, Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering (BAE), as well as the Center for Applied Energy Research (CAER) were recently awarded funding from the UK Sustainability Challenge Grant program in order to demonstrate an integrated approach to replace coal and petroleum-generated products with sustainable, biomass-based products. Ideally, the research will lead to jobs for rural Kentuckians suffering from the slowing coal industry as well as help the United States reduce its dependence on foreign oil.

Registration Open for UK’s Expanding Your Horizons Conference

By Carol Lea Spence

The University of Kentucky is hosting the third annual Expanding Your Horizons Conference for middle school girls and their parents or guardians from 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. EDT Saturday, April 20. This day of hands-on workshops will inform young Kentucky girls and their parents about exciting career opportunities in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Jesse Thompson to Investigate Utilizing CO2 as a Chemical Feedstock

UK CAER's Jesse Thompson (left) and Ayo Omosebi (right) will be developing a system that may offer a viable option to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from fossil fuel-fired power plants.

UK to Transform, Modernize Chemistry-Physics Building

By Jenny Wells

The University of Kentucky Chemistry-Physics Building is getting a much-needed transformation.

The central campus staple is currently undergoing a two-phase construction project that will result in a renovation of the third floor, as well as a completely new exterior façade of the building, including a three-story entrance/atrium.

Graduation Celebration & Student Awards Ceremony

The Department of Chemistry hosts an annual Graduation Celebration and Awards Ceremony to recognize the outstanding acheivements of our students on an annual basis. This year we would like to recognize the following graduates of our PhD, Masters, and Undergraduate programs:

Doctor of Philosophy
Wenjin Cao
Kai Ding
Alexis Eugene
Zhen Fang
John Hoben
Daniel Kirchhoff
Ryan Loe
Faruk Moonschi
Anthony Petty
Daudi Saang'onyo
Yang (Vanessa) Song
Laura Walther
Zhihui Zhang

Master of Science
Hope Cook Abdalla
Amber Bowman
Andrew (AJ) Bradley
Nandini Gundaram Suresh
Edward (Kirkbride) Loya
Xiao Tan

Bachelor of Arts
Annie Jo Baker
Morgan Louis Blair *
Kevin Russel Eversole
Kevin P Kelley, II
Musab Mohammad Shalash
Eashwar Vellaiappan Somasundaram *

Bachelor of Science
Tanner Wetzel Adams
Eve Deva Aldridge
Melissa Lynn Becker
Joshua Michael Betts
Jamie Elizabeth Boggs
Kyle T Brutscher
Haley Whitney Carroll
Katherine Rose Clowes *
Keisten T Collins
Cassadi Jordan Cordea *
John Gregory Davis
Mike Alfred Dittert
Lilly Do
Matthew Brady Ekman *
Logan John Eslinger *
William Eubanks, III
Madison Paige Ginn *
Heba Rasheed Hanbali
David Andrew Harris *
Sarah Elise Hodges
Sirui Huang
William C Jennings *
Sarah E Johnson
Morgan L Keyser
Brenna Kirkpatrick
John Klein *
Katherine Anne Kloska
Alysia Joy Kohlbrand
Don Edward Laird
Allison Carol Lane
Lyric Jasmine Lane
Harrison Evans Lee
Zi En Lee
Jumanah Mahmoud *
Gregory Nathaniel Milburn *
Jonathan Steele Nelson
Sara Ann Novotny
Jacquelyn Estes Rhinehart *
Antonela Rodriguez
Chia-Hsuan (Jessica) Shen *
Olivia Marie Tholt *
Caroline Elizabeth Thornbury
Matthew Thomas Wasmund
Liying Wu *

*Denotes Chemistry Department Honors




Friday, April 26, 2019 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm
JSB 121
Type of Event (for grouping events):


Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected