Chemistry Department Seminars - Archive

Previous Chemistry Department Seminars

(View upcoming Chemistry department seminars)

Friday, April 19, 2019 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Differences in Pyruvic Acid Photoreactivity

Speaker/Presenter: Domink Heger
Location: CP-114

Wednesday, April 17, 2019 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm

LOW-DIMENSIONAL NANO-CARBONS: DOPED GRAPHENE TO 3-D HYBRIDS AND BIOLOGICAL APPLICATIONS

Speaker/Presenter: Mauricio Terrones
Location: CP-114

Tuesday, April 16, 2019 - 11:00am to 12:00pm

Blood-brain Barrier Transport of Insulin: Links to CNS insulin Resistance, Diabetes, and Alzheimer’s Disease

Speaker/Presenter: William Banks
Location: CP-114

Friday, April 5, 2019 - 8:00am to 5:00pm

45th Annual Naff Symposium

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: WT Young Library / JSB

Friday, March 29, 2019 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Conversion of oils and fats to diesel and jet fuel (and of students into STEM professionals)

Speaker/Presenter: Eduardo Santillan-Jimenez
Location: CP-114

Thursday, February 14, 2019 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Department of Chemistry Seminar

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: CP-114

Friday, February 8, 2019 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Assembly of 2D Particles at Fluid-Fluid Interfaces to Architect Advanced Composite Materials

Speaker/Presenter: Emily Pentzer
Location: CP-114

Thursday, January 31, 2019 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Department of Chemistry Seminar

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: CP-114

Monday, January 28, 2019 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Department of Chemistry Seminar

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: CP-114

Friday, January 25, 2019 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Dye-Sensitization for the Production of Electrical Power and Chemical Fuels from Sunlight

Speaker/Presenter: Gerald Meyer
Location: CP-114

Friday, January 18, 2019 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY, COMMERCIALIZATION & STARTUPS: HOW THE OFFICE OF TECHNOLOGY COMMERCIALIZATION (OTC) CAN HELP YOU?

Speaker/Presenter: Ian McClure
Location: CP-114

Friday, December 7, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Zirconium in the Spotlight: New Pathways to Photoluminescent Molecules

Speaker/Presenter: Carsten Milsmann
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, November 30, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Two component structure of Graphene Oxide: New insights in the oxygen surface coverage

Speaker/Presenter: Ignacio Gullon
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, November 16, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Biological macromolecules in crowded cellular environments: weak transient interactions have consequences

Speaker/Presenter: Michael Feig
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, November 9, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Ice is cool!

Speaker/Presenter: Dominik Heger
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, November 2, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Mapping Allosteric Communication Pathways in Protein Conformational Ensembles

Speaker/Presenter: Donald Hamelberg
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, October 26, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Improved Synthesis of Two-Dimensional Covalent Organic Frameworks

Speaker/Presenter: Will Dichtel
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, October 19, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Driving forces of greasy protein association in greasy membranes

Speaker/Presenter: Janice Robertson
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, October 12, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Dawson Lecture

Speaker/Presenter: Neal Armstrong, University of Arizona
Location: JSB 321

Tags: chemistry seminar, dawson lecture


Friday, September 21, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Magnetic Particle Imaging: Tracer Development and Emerging Applications

Speaker/Presenter: Anna Cristina Samia
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, September 14, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Lignin Manipulation in Plants and Inspirations from Nature toward ‘Designing’ Biomass Lignins for the Biorefinery

Speaker/Presenter: John Ralph
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, September 7, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Understanding polymer chemistry for energy conversion technologies—a case study: e-P3HT

Speaker/Presenter: Judy Jenkins, EKU
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, April 27, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:20pm

High-Throughput Biomass Analysis by Pyrolysis-Molecular Beam Mass Spectrometry

Speaker/Presenter: Liz Ware
Location: CP-114

Friday, April 20, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Chemical doping of organic semiconductors for interface engineering

Speaker/Presenter: Antoine Kahn
Location: CP-114

Friday, April 13, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

The Remarkable Versatility of High-valent-iron Intermediates in Biosynthesis of Bioactive Natural Products

Speaker/Presenter: Marty Bollinger, Jr.
Location: JSB 121

Friday, April 6, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Packaging Chemists and Coatings Technology

Speaker/Presenter: Brad Weedon
Location: CP-114

Friday, March 30, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Oxidative Stress Induced by Ambient and Laboratory-Generated Aerosols

Speaker/Presenter: Sally Ng
Location: CP-114

Friday, March 2, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Dynamic NRG3-ErbB4 Signaling in the Ventral Hippocampus Controls Affective Nicotine Withdrawal-Induced Behaviors

Speaker/Presenter: Jill Turner
Location: CP-114

Friday, February 23, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Slow Axonal Transport, Axon Morphology and Neuronal Function

Speaker/Presenter: Peter Jung
Location: CP-114

Friday, February 9, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Phantasmidine and Epibatidine: Absolute Configuration and Nicotinic Receptor Pharmacology

Speaker/Presenter: Richard Fitch
Location: CP-114

Friday, January 26, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Tailoring mesoporous carbons and related materials for energy applications

Speaker/Presenter: Sheng Dai
Location: CP-114

Friday, January 19, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Career Opportunities in Chemistry

Speaker/Presenter: Vince Stapp
Location: CP-114

Friday, December 8, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Carbon and related fibers… applied materials development next-door

Speaker/Presenter: Matt Weisenberger
Location: CP-114

Friday, December 1, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Examining toxicity, genomic and epigenetic effects of manufactured nanomaterials

Speaker/Presenter: Olga Tsyusko
Location: CP-114

Friday, November 17, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Reversible glucan phosphorylation links neurodegeneration with plant starch metabolism

Speaker/Presenter: Matthew Gentry
Location: CP-114

Friday, November 10, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

In Search of Novel Inhibitors of Metallo-β-lactamases

Speaker/Presenter: Mike Crowder
Location: CP-114

Friday, November 3, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Accurate Calculations in Heavy Atom Chemistry

Speaker/Presenter: Mike Schmidt
Location: CP-114

Friday, October 20, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Effect of Crystal Packing on the Electronic Properties of Molecular Crystals

Speaker/Presenter: Noa Marom
Location: CP-114

Friday, October 13, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

The Photophysical Properties of Porphyrin Thin Films and Thiazolothiazole Viologens

Speaker/Presenter: Michael Walter
Location: CP-114

Friday, October 6, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Programming π-System Structure and Function by Hydrogen Bonding

Speaker/Presenter: Ron Castellano
Location: CP-114

Friday, September 29, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Can the biorefinery survive cheap oil? Opportunities for converting lignin to biobased chemicals.

Speaker/Presenter: Joseph Bozell
Location: CP-114

Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Electronic and Electrochemical Devices from Conductive Polymer Interfaces

Speaker/Presenter: Erin Ratcliff
Location: CP-114

Friday, September 22, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Philosophical Issues in Modeling Nanoscale Systems

Speaker/Presenter: Julia Bursten
Location: CP-114

Friday, September 15, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Combining Plasmonic Particles And Lipids For Biosensing And Spectroscopy

Speaker/Presenter: Laura Sagle
Location: CP-114

Friday, September 1, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Photonmanagement in NIR and SSM Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells

Speaker/Presenter: Jared Delcamp
Location: CP-114

Thursday, May 4, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Exit Seminar

Speaker/Presenter: Evie Zhou
Location: CP-114

Friday, April 28, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

PV-Powered Semiconductor electrochemical reactor systems: applications for wastewater treatment in the developing world

Speaker/Presenter: Mike Hoffmann
Location: JSB - 321

Friday, April 14, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

UK College of Design - multiple titles

Speaker/Presenter: Rebekah Ison, Anne Filson, Gary Rohrbacher
Location: CP-114

Friday, April 7, 2017 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Polycyclic Alkaloid Natural Products of Fungal Origin

Speaker/Presenter: Jonathan Scheerer
Location: CP-114

X
Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected

Loading