Chemistry Department Seminars - Archive

Previous Chemistry Department Seminars

(View upcoming Chemistry department seminars)

Friday, May 1, 2020 - 12:00pm

Graduation Celebration

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: n/a

Friday, April 24, 2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

CANCELLED - Department Seminar

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Morgan Stefik
Location: CP-114

Friday, April 24, 2020 - 11:30am to 4:00pm

CANCELLED - Regional Undergraduate Poster Competition

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: Jacobs Science Building

Friday, April 17, 2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

CANCELLED - Department Seminar

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Aditi Das
Location: CP-114

Friday, April 3, 2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

CANCELLED - Cementitious Systems in Ancient Roman Reactive Glass Concretes ... and a Very Young Analog at Surtsey Volcano, Iceland

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Marie Jackson
Location: CP-114

Friday, March 27, 2020 - 8:00am to 5:00pm

CANCELLED - 46th Annual Naff Symposium - Cannabinoids: Policy, Use and Safety

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: W.T. Young Library Auditorium

Tuesday, March 3, 2020 - 9:30am to 10:30am

Biochemistry of Peroxynitrite and Protein Tyrosine Nitration

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Rafael Radi
Location: W.T. Young Library Auditorium

Friday, February 28, 2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Towards Quantitative Protein Separations: Imaging Protein Dynamics at Nanoscale Interfaces

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Christy Landes
Location: CP-114

Friday, February 21, 2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Genomic, Behavioral and Engineering approaches towards an understanding of sleep, and its role in maintaining health and well-being

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Bruce O'Hara
Location: CP-114

Friday, February 7, 2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Emerging Methods with Micelle Templates

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Morgan Stefik
Location: CP-114

Friday, January 31, 2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Adhesion and Wetting of Soft and Sticky Interfaces

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Jonathan Pham
Location: CP-114

Friday, January 17, 2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Polymer Materials for Energy: From the Katana, Swiss Chocolates to Organic Solar Cells

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Natalie Stingelin
Location: CP-114

Friday, December 13, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Synthetic Studies of Neoclerodane Diterpenes from Salvia divinorum

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Thomas Prisinzano
Location: CP-114

Friday, December 6, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Thinking Cells as Macromolecules: A Chemist's Pondering Upon Cell Biology

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Jianhua Xing
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, November 15, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Mechanistic and Biosynthetic Studies of Dinoflagellate Bioluminescence

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Steven Mansoorabadi
Location: CP-114

Tuesday, November 12, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Pursuing Cost-effective Solar Fuels through Artificial Photosynthesis

Speaker/Presenter: Joshua M. Spurgeon, Ph.D.
Location: CP-114B

Friday, November 8, 2019 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm

Dawson Lecture: New Synthetic Methods for C-F Bond Formation: From Fundamental Science to Applications

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Melanie Sanford, University of Michigan
Location: W.T. Young Library Auditorium

Thursday, October 24, 2019 - 3:45pm to 5:45pm

Catalent Info Session

Speaker/Presenter: Catalent
Location: Whitehall Classroom Building, Room 331

Tags: #chemistry


Thursday, October 24, 2019 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm

William N. Lipscomb Centennial Celebration

Speaker/Presenter: Prof. Marjorie Senechal, Prof. Irving Epstein, Prof. Doug Rees
Location: W.T. Young Library Auditorium

Friday, October 18, 2019 - 10:00am to 11:30am

Alumni Career Panel

Speaker/Presenter: Jeffrey Lomprey, Susan Griffith, Tanea Reed, Alyson Ackerman, and Vince Stapp
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry


Friday, October 11, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

(4+3)-Cycloadditions: Past and Present

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Michael Harmata
Location: CP-114

Friday, October 4, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Adapting the Proteostasis Network to Ameliorate GABAA Receptor Folding Diseases

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Ting-Wei Mu
Location: CP-114

Friday, September 27, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Organic-Inorganic Perovskites: Unrivaled Versatility for Semiconductor Design and Fabrication

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. David Mitzi
Location: CP-114

Friday, September 20, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Molecular Dynamics Simulations of LARP1, a Cancer-Relevant Drug Target

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Jacob Durrant
Location: CP-114

Tuesday, September 17, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

From Molecules to Devices: Mechanistic Analyses of Electrochemical Energy Systems

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Maureen Tang
Location: CP-114

Friday, September 6, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Polymer-enabled Energy Storage

Speaker/Presenter: Dr. Jodie Lutkenhaus
Location: CP-114

Friday, August 30, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Faculty Poster Presentations

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: CP-114

Friday, August 23, 2019 - 3:30pm to 4:30pm

Faculty-Student Coffee Hour

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: CP-114A/B

Tuesday, May 7, 2019 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Understanding the Electronic Structure of Metal Oxides

Speaker/Presenter: David Payne
Location: CP-114

Friday, April 26, 2019 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm

Graduation Celebration & Student Awards Ceremony

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: JSB 121

Friday, April 26, 2019 - 2:00pm to 2:50pm

Chemically-Modified DNA Aptamers

Speaker/Presenter: John Rohloff
Location: CP-114

Tuesday, April 23, 2019 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Nanostructured semi-conductive interfaces for real time analytical solutions

Speaker/Presenter: Priscilla Baker
Location: CP-114

Friday, April 19, 2019 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Differences in Pyruvic Acid Photoreactivity

Speaker/Presenter: Domink Heger
Location: CP-114

Wednesday, April 17, 2019 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm

LOW-DIMENSIONAL NANO-CARBONS: DOPED GRAPHENE TO 3-D HYBRIDS AND BIOLOGICAL APPLICATIONS

Speaker/Presenter: Mauricio Terrones
Location: CP-114

Tuesday, April 16, 2019 - 11:00am to 12:00pm

Blood-brain Barrier Transport of Insulin: Links to CNS insulin Resistance, Diabetes, and Alzheimer’s Disease

Speaker/Presenter: William Banks
Location: CP-114

Friday, April 5, 2019 - 8:00am to 5:00pm

45th Annual Naff Symposium

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: WT Young Library / JSB

Friday, March 29, 2019 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Conversion of oils and fats to diesel and jet fuel (and of students into STEM professionals)

Speaker/Presenter: Eduardo Santillan-Jimenez
Location: CP-114

Thursday, February 14, 2019 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Department of Chemistry Seminar

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: CP-114

Friday, February 8, 2019 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Assembly of 2D Particles at Fluid-Fluid Interfaces to Architect Advanced Composite Materials

Speaker/Presenter: Emily Pentzer
Location: CP-114

Thursday, January 31, 2019 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Department of Chemistry Seminar

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: CP-114

Monday, January 28, 2019 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Department of Chemistry Seminar

Speaker/Presenter:
Location: CP-114

Friday, January 25, 2019 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Dye-Sensitization for the Production of Electrical Power and Chemical Fuels from Sunlight

Speaker/Presenter: Gerald Meyer
Location: CP-114

Friday, January 18, 2019 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY, COMMERCIALIZATION & STARTUPS: HOW THE OFFICE OF TECHNOLOGY COMMERCIALIZATION (OTC) CAN HELP YOU?

Speaker/Presenter: Ian McClure
Location: CP-114

Friday, December 7, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Zirconium in the Spotlight: New Pathways to Photoluminescent Molecules

Speaker/Presenter: Carsten Milsmann
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, November 30, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Two component structure of Graphene Oxide: New insights in the oxygen surface coverage

Speaker/Presenter: Ignacio Gullon
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, November 16, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Biological macromolecules in crowded cellular environments: weak transient interactions have consequences

Speaker/Presenter: Michael Feig
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, November 9, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Ice is cool!

Speaker/Presenter: Dominik Heger
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, November 2, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Mapping Allosteric Communication Pathways in Protein Conformational Ensembles

Speaker/Presenter: Donald Hamelberg
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, October 26, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Improved Synthesis of Two-Dimensional Covalent Organic Frameworks

Speaker/Presenter: Will Dichtel
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


Friday, October 19, 2018 - 12:00pm to 12:50pm

Driving forces of greasy protein association in greasy membranes

Speaker/Presenter: Janice Robertson
Location: CP-114

Tags: chemistry seminar


X
Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected

Loading